Home Frequent Asked Questions

Frequent Asked Questions

For a product to be accepted halal, it must be made of ingredients permitted under the Shariah law. It must not contain any parts or products of animals that are non-halal by Shariah law or any parts or products of animals which are not slaughtered according to Shariah law. The product must be prepared, processed or manufactured hygienically using equipment and utensils free from contamination by najs.

For a pharmaceutical product to be accepted as halal, it must be free of, and not made or contain any part or substance taken or extracted from an animal which is forbidden (Haram) to be consumed by Muslim according to Shariah laws. It must fulfil the statutory and regulatory requirements set by the pharmaceutical regulatory authority and prepared, processed, produced or manufactured using utensils, equipment and/or machinery free from filthy substances as directed by Shariah laws. It must also to ensure safety for human health according to the prescribed dosage.

Note: In Malaysia, for Halal Certification purposes, the provisions of Malaysian Standard MS 2424 is applied.

Halal certified product refers to product which have undergone inspection and assessment processes by an authorised competent Islamic body, that would demonstrate that the product fulfilled requirements of halal standards and guidelines developed and approved by a recognised body.

In Malaysia, the authorised competent Islamic bodies are the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (JAKIM) and the States Religious Departments or Councils. Often, Halal certification involves a series of steps including ingredient verification, inspection, audit and approval by JAKIM. Once the audit is successful, only then will the halal certificate be issued.

The reason why there is a need for halal certification is to assist Muslims to identify between a halal and non-halal product, i.e. to ensure they do not consume food that is not permitted in Islam. Halal Certification is an assurance that the product meets statutory and regulatory requirements, and the approved halal standards developed by a recognised body.

In Malaysia, a company applying for Halal Certification for pharmaceutical products, would need to refer to the Halal Malaysia Certification Manual, Halal Assurance System Guidelines as well as the Malaysian Standard MS2424:2012 for Halal Pharmaceuticals.

Lookout for the halal mark or stamp which distinguishes halal products. Always check if the halal logo is from a reputable certification body. In Malaysia, the certifying body is Department of Islamic JAKIM, the State Islamic Religious Departments (JAIN) and State Islamic Religious Councils (MAIN)

For imported products include ingredients, JAKIM recognises over 66 certification bodies from 42 countries. Browse through their website at www.halal.gov.my to check on the halal logo from different certifying bodies.

Gelatine used for pharmaceutical capsules are halal if it’s derived from halal sources and approved by JAKIM as well as the Department Veterinary Services (DVS).

Yes, if the alcohol obtained is from the industrial process, i.e. chemical synthesis only then it is allowed to be used in halal medicines. Alcohol that goes through a fermentation method from the winemaking process is not permitted to be used in halal medicines.